May 14, 2014
Posted by: Calista Brill
Categories: Uncategorized


I’m so happy to have a chance to contribute to this awesome bloggy festival of love for Zita the Spacegirl, in honor of the publication of the third book in the series! See below for more info on the official blog tour. You might notice that my particular contribution is two shameful days late, but I hope the fact that I’m late because I spent the weekend singing the praises of Zita to everyone at the Toronto Comic Arts Festival will help explain that!


So, Calista, I hear you all crying out, what’s your favorite thing about Zita the Spacegirl?


It’s the cosplay, you guys!

Cosplay is just a fancy, nerdish word for costume, and the thing I love most about Zita the Spacegirl is that so many kids – and adults! – love her and admire her and connect with her enough to be inspired to dress up like her.


There’s something really powerful about putting on a costume. People do it out of love, and because there’s something in that character that we recognize and want for ourselves. I imagine that for some kids (and adults!) it’s Zita’s bravery that inspires them. For others, maybe it’s her generosity and humanity. And for still others, it’s her flaws: that she’s afraid, sometimes, and petty, sometimes, and still finds a way to rise above it and save the day, with her loyal friends at her side.


And it sure doesn’t hurt that her costume is super duper cool.


Thank you, Ben Hatke, for giving us a character who gives us something great to see in ourselves.


For more awesome Zita cosplay, check out these



at Ben Hatke’s blog!


The Zita Blog Tour


Want more Zita? Check out the stops on the “My Favorite Thing About Zita the Spacegirl” Blog Tour!

Wednesday, April 30
Mark Siegel

Thursday, May 1
Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast

Friday, May 2
SLJ Good Comics for Kids

Saturday, May 3
Mrs. Dalloway’s

Sunday, May 4
Waking Brain Cells

Monday, May 5
Good OK Bad

Tuesday, May 6
Tony Cliff

Wednesday, May 7
The Book Smugglers

Thursday, May 8
Fuse #8

Friday, May 9
Tom Angleberger

Saturday, May 10
Books 4 Your Kids

Sunday, May 11
Jerzy Drozd

Monday, May 12
Calista Brill

Tuesday, May 13
Jenni and Matt Holm

Wednesday, May 14
Geek Dad

Thursday, May 15
Jarrett Krosoczka

Friday, May 16

Saturday, May 17
The Book Rat

Sunday, May 18
Supernatural Snark

Monday, May 19

Tuesday, May 20
Gene Luen Yang

Wednesday, May 21
Media Macaroni

Thursday, May 22
Musings of a Librarian

Friday, May 23
Colleen AF Venable

Saturday, May 24
Green Bean Teen Queen

Sunday, May 25
Bunbury in the Stacks

Monday, May 26
Book Monsters

Your Comments are Welcome!

7 − six =